Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 Early windaz View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
bear



Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: 57�59'N 15�39'E

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 12:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have windows 1.0 and 1.01 with instructions how to run with vmware or
w9x PM if interested.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Luke



Joined: 04 Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:11 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You really have Windows 1.00?
As far as I know it was never relased for commercial use and was something like beta version.
And it's rare.
View user's profileSend private message
bear



Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: 57�59'N 15�39'E

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 5:06 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

This is the textfile that came with it, the newest files on the images are from 1987 (except a winoldap mod)

Quote:
Microsoft Windows 1.0
=====================

Tested with VMWare Workstation 4.0.5

Make a 720k floppy of a 1.44 floppy by filling the left hole
with something. (the opposite hole of the writeprot hole)

Make the disk by extracting the msdos321.img file to the floppy (f.ex. with WinImage)

Add the floppydrive to vmvare.
Add another floppy drive, by using the disk1.img

Boot up vmware, and you should get time & date prompt from msdos.
Just hit enter twize. Then write fdisk, and choose to create a primary
dos partition. And then it will reboot again.

When it's up again, type b:
and then setup

follow the instructions..
I have had most luck with 8 on the video selection.

When it asks for the aplication disk. Right click the 2nd floppy
icon in vmware, and choose "Edit". Then make it use disk2.img instead
of disk1.img. And enter your vmware again. Click C to continue.
Voila, it's done.. Write WIN and you enter the world of Windows 1.0

When you boot up later you must type:
c:
cd windows
win

Good Luck!


Tutorial by lunatic
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT