Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 windows 95 on a fast pc View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
wdegroot



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 487
Location: pennsylvanai

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 3:01 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I have a drive (with the amd patch) with win 95b
thet runs on a p4.
it went thru some gyrations before the desktop came up, But If I restart is still looks for stuff.
I think It originally came out of some older pc.
My son asked be to make w 95 run on a faster pc
I know tom Clancy's ss ( sub game works ONLY on 95)
I think I have to set it up on an old pc, apply the amd patch anmd then transfer the drive to a newer faster pc
is there ANY other way?
I also expect I will have to try various sound and video cards replacing the on-board cards in the newer pc.
Has anyone tried it?
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 161
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 6:09 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I tried windows 98 on an athlonX4 once. I had to slipstream the sata drivers into the install disk to get it installed. But it did work and has worked for about 2 years now. I got lucky and the board was supported in windows 98 for everything but the sata ports. As 98 and 95 are very similar I would assume you could do the same, unless you stick with IDE, then all should be well.

Now just how 'new' are we talking? You may run into chipsets that are unsupported, then all bets are off.

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
wdegroot



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 487
Location: pennsylvanai

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:38 am Reply with quoteBack to top

It would be some kind of intel system like a p4 2400.
not one that supports sata. * chipset version sets that ability)
he does not want to mess up his cirreent setup
I realize from just one year ago, that 98
has serious ram restrictions. It ran on a p4 2300.
but a patch had to be added to restrict cache to 512.
with 640m or 768 or 1g of ram it sould periodically lock up.
I upgraded OS because more sites did not work.
not because I didn't like 98.
I looked for a patch for clancy's ssn game but several years ago just set up a p1 & 95c.
I have one drive that does work with 98 on my test p4 2400. need some fine tuning.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 566
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 11:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I'd recommend using a VM on anything over 1.5GHz. There's enough CPU headroom and you wouldn't have near as many driver issues.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT