Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 Question on Older AST Sixpakplus and 286 computers View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Tom S



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2012 9:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Its been ages since i'v been here, and to be honest, a bit surprised its still active. Anyways, i have a IBM 5170 (most recent bios version) 512kb system board and a Sixpakplus with 384KB Onboard ram. I was able to get the card to fill in the 128kb gap for a full 640kb, but is there any way to have this card use the rest of the ram on it for extended memory? Or is this a card that since its only 8-bit ISA, the memory controller can't address the ram on the card above the 1MB mark?
View user's profileSend private message
wdegroot



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 487
Location: pennsylvanai

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2012 11:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

six pack card on an at
I found that in a system on one of my jobs.
I recorded the settings and cannot put my hands on them.
so apparently it was done. and I do not know if it worked
try something like memtest. available on cd but you can d/l a floppy. and see if it passes memory testing.
also ( and this borders on sacreligous)
the later AT bioses(phoenix & award) usually work in an AT. this adds many features. including setup by hitting a key noit using a disk
the generic setup.com and setup.exe
from phoenix also will work to set drive parameters.
the original AT did not support the st-251 40m drive . according to people I worked with at Intel there were some UK machines that did have support..
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
ryan



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Location: WisConSin

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Not sure if this would work on a Plus but there was a way of using memory as expanded memory on some AST cards.

AST then offered a driver that would make the expanded memory on their cards behave as extended memory.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
wdegroot



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 487
Location: pennsylvanai

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2012 5:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

as said possibly I will find the info
I may have put it in anotebook
but a piece of paper-= forget it/.
a intel above board will backfill and more than one card can be used
it is all software driven NO SWITCHES no batteries.

but the settings for a XT six-pack card used in an AT would be usefulk
the real memory cards for an IBM AT are 16 but cards
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT