Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 eliminating the need to reload command.com View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2005 10:41 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

if you are still "messing around" with a dual floppy-based system
OR even a single floppy based system , it is a bit annoying to have to re-insert the Dos Boot disk when it keeps asking for command.com,

here';s a metod th eliminate this annoyance.
you need dod 3.0 or newer. you [;ace command.com on a ramdisk
here's how you do it.

create a config.sys on the boot disk.
you can use copy con config.sys \

DEVICE=VDISK.SYS 64

THEN CREATE A AUTOEXEC.BAT.

COPY A:COMMAND.COM C:COMMAND.COM
>NUL
SET COMSPEC = C:\COMMAND.COM

you will not be asked uto "reinsert the disk with command.com "again UNLESS you reboot and use another boot disk.

LINE 1 COPIES COMMAND.COM TO THE RAMDISK
> NULL PREVENTS THE display of the copy command
2nd line sets the enviroment variable COMSPEC

PC RESOURCE MAGAZINE SEPT 1989 PAGE 12
THIS SHOULD NOT be a sticky but placed in the text files list.

i think the newer edit will work in older DOS
Otherwise get ted.com or ted2 or ted3 ted is 2.048 BYTES
never use edlin uuuuggggghhh
mf_2



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 9:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

wdegroot wrote:

never use edlin uuuuggggghhh


I agree. I was never able to really actually work with it. edit is much better, and yes it runs on older DOS versions, as long as you have qbasic.exe in the same directory I think.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 5:07 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

the replacement for edit, the newer one, or try the one from 95.98
it may not ( likely so) require qbasic.
but ted.com or it's siblingsares very small.
bear



Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 173
Location: 57�59'N 15�39'E

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Old Norton Cmmander also edits well Very Happy
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Pimped_Portable



Joined: 30 Aug 2005
Posts: 20
Location: Gurnee, IL, USA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:44 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Let's not forget PC-DOS's "E" editor.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Ki Mendrossen
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 12:39 am Reply with quoteBack to top

No need for ted, e, edit, or edlin. On simple dos booted disk you could use copy con.
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT