Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 SCSI Experience View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Looks like you've done well. In that auction, the two cards at the top with the 16-bit interfaces will not work in 8-bit systems for the obvious reason that they're 16-bit. The two on the bottom will work in an 8-bit system, though the one on the lower left (DTC) certainly won't be able to boot from a harddrive as it doesn't have a PROM on the card. However, the one on the bottom left by Future Domain has a boot ROM. That is a TMC-850M, the same as the one I bought. That's the best 8-bit card you can get for an XT. ROM version 8.2 was the best one. If it's 8.4 or 8.5 it won't boot on an XT though. I think lower ROM versions are missing larger drive support. Though, chances are it's a V8.2. The drivers for the Future Domain were updated until about 1997 so they support a wide variety of devices.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Anonymous101



Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:58 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thanks for the info Smile

I might as well bid on it then, as I imagine it will go for very little, and it could be quite a while before I get another chance Razz

I wonder if it'll be possible to get this working with it:
Image
It's scsi box i got cheap of ebay. Unfortunately, I didn't realise until I got it, that it's limited to 40MB/s Sad (It's got U160 drives in it - also cheap of ebay)
View user's profileSend private message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I wouldn't count on it going as cheap as you suspect. I've been getting seriously outbid on vintage components lately. As for it working with this SCSI box of yours...don't count on it recognising drive space beyond 1GB.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Anonymous101



Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hmmm, guess I'll just have to wait and see. If it's going to be expensive, I probably won't bother.
And as for it working with that box, I'd be happy if it could just see a 100mb's worth of a drive Razz (PC's currently got a 20mb hardcard)
View user's profileSend private message
guest
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Anonymous101 wrote:
I'd be happy if it could just see a 100mb's worth of a drive Razz (PC's currently got a 20mb hardcard)

my TMC850 could drive a 2g SCSI HD
Anonymous101



Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 12:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ImageVery Happy
It ended up costing 3.99 (~$7). Bargin Smile
And it would seem to have V8.0 of the bios. Although I've still got to test it...
View user's profileSend private message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 7:38 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I think you'll do just fine with the V8.0 BIOS. I am pretty sure it was a significant step forward in terms of disk drive support. Though, if you need a copy of the V8.2 ROM so you can burn yourself a newone, I can provide it for you. I think you're quite lucky. I've been scouring ebay for two years to find a good TMC-850M, and I am quite surprised to see so many spring up all of a sudden. Infact, about a month ago I saw some being sold NIB, however I didn't buy as the seller couldn't tell me the BIOS revision. I didn't want to get stuck with another V8.4 ROM. You know, I spent a long time looking for somebody with a dump of the V8.2, and it's quite ironic that about one week after somebody sent it to me, I found a real card. Buying vintage parts is starting to give me serious headaches.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Jorg



Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Im gonna follow this discussion (and yes, anonymous coward- I'm at the VC forum too but you will have guessed that..)

_________________
Hey you with the pretty face, welcome to the human race!

IBM 5150 5155 5160 5162 5170
IBM 5151 5152 5153 5154
View user's profileSend private messageICQ Number
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:25 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Anonymous101 wrote:
ImageVery Happy
It ended up costing 3.99 (~$7). Bargin Smile
And it would seem to have V8.0 of the bios. Although I've still got to test it...


I have that same card. Love it. Not sure on my rom version though. I find it odd the external scsi port is "macintosh compatible" (mine has a sticker which says that).

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Anonymous101



Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:38 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yeah, mines got that sticker on it too Confused

Anyway, good to know that v8.0 bios won't be a probelm.
However, when I installed this card and booted, I (after the usual wait) got the future bios come up. It did a search for scsi devices and found none (as none were connected Razz), suggested checking cables+power, then hung. Is this right, or should it then go on to try booting off a floppy/hdd?
View user's profileSend private message
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 8:36 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Anonymous101 wrote:
Yeah, mines got that sticker on it too Confused

Anyway, good to know that v8.0 bios won't be a probelm.
However, when I installed this card and booted, I (after the usual wait) got the future bios come up. It did a search for scsi devices and found none (as none were connected Razz), suggested checking cables+power, then hung. Is this right, or should it then go on to try booting off a floppy/hdd?


how did it "hung"? (ie. did you get any errors?)


BTW

another one on ebay

http://cgi.ebay.com/Future-Domain-Apple-Signal-ISA-SCSI-Card_W0QQitemZ5843913034QQcategoryZ31494QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

---EDIT---

Here is whats on the rom chip (I asked Very Happy )
1994 950 V.840

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.

Last edited by harshbarj on Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 6:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I've never tried booting one of the Future Domain cards without a drive attached, but I guess it doesn't really surprise me that it would hang if not properly terminated. Though it is likely the best one you can get for 8-bit ISA it is still not a really advanced card, so it's probably not smart enough to know what to do when there are no devices connected. When you do get around to testing an actual SCSI drive, be sure to keep in mind that Future Domain SCSI cards are a little goofy as they tend to check SCSI-IDs in reverse order...so if using multiple drives you should make sure you boot drive is set to ID6.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:05 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Anonymous Coward wrote:
I've never tried booting one of the Future Domain cards without a drive attached, but I guess it doesn't really surprise me that it would hang if not properly terminated. Though it is likely the best one you can get for 8-bit ISA it is still not a really advanced card, so it's probably not smart enough to know what to do when there are no devices connected. When you do get around to testing an actual SCSI drive, be sure to keep in mind that Future Domain SCSI cards are a little goofy as they tend to check SCSI-IDs in reverse order...so if using multiple drives you should make sure you boot drive is set to ID6.


I think all scsi devices are like that. I know my ps/2 9595A has to have it's boot device at 6 and so dose my server 330 (anything else results in a boot error).

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Anonymous101



Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 54
Location: Nottingham, England

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:36 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

harshbarj wrote:
how did it "hung"? (ie. did you get any errors?)
It just displayed this, and halted:
Image

If I attach a terminator to the external port, I get this:
ImageConfused
Then it booted into dos as normal

BTW, have you used one of these cards with an external drive before?
Because i've been doining some googleing, and think it could have some odd proprietary apple scsi pinout, not regular scsi I :/
Still doesn't explain why it's hanging tho...
View user's profileSend private message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 9:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yes, both of your IBM machines need the boot device set as ID6 because they are using Future Domain SCSI adapters. Every microchannel SCSI controller I have ever seen is by Future Domain. However, starting at ID0 is the standard way of scanning the bus. That's the way all modern SCSI adapters do it.

Anyway, I've never used the external port on the back of a TMC-850M before, but I have used several adaptec cards with the 25-pin port and an external SCSI-zip drive. I believe that the 25-pin connector was also referred to as apple SCSI in the documentation for those cards. As far as I know most if not all 25-pin SCSI ports are Apple SCSI, as I believe they were the first to make the interface popular. Probaby because it was cheaper than using a 50-pin centronics connector. You can buy adapters to interface with 50 pin devices if you need to. I wouldn't worry too much. It sounds like your card is working properly.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT