Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 Clone 10MHz XT motherboards View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Tue Oct 25, 2005 2:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I am interested in playing around with a 10MHz system, and I was wondering if any of you guys have a recommendation on a specific motherboard, and where I might be able to find one. I am hoping to find one with a Phoenix BIOS if possible. 0WS would also be rather nice.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 9:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

avoid the dtk boards, many of the others are ok.
phoenix 2.27 and 2.52 were the newer popular versions.

don't expect support for 12 function keys.
read the silk screening and if it says 256k don't buy it
some ol;d board were only 256k max, you could plug in
2 rows of 64k and 2 rows of 256k chips and it will clock up to 640k
but will screw up with some programs.
many times with a 10 mhz board and 640k installed, the amout of ram switches mean nothing. or even some 8 mhz boards.

ID hint: many 8 mhz boards had many rom (bios) sockets

pich an older 16 bit vga card and be sure not to short the extra pins and you can use a vga monitor. ( set switches to ega or NONE) for video.

you likely will need a mfm drive and controller. ide xt cards and drives were rare.

A 1.44 floppy will work as a 720k floppy for dos 3.30.
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:19 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I think I'm fairly prepared for my move to a clone board. I use an ATi VGA Wonder for display, an 8-bit SCSI card with BIOS for the hard disk, and a high desnity floppy controller to use a 1.44meg floppy as an actual 1.44meg floppy. I hope they will all work well at 10MHz.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2005 7:26 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

There are several JUKO Super Turbo XT motherboards for sale on ebay at the moment. They can operate at 12 and 15?!?! MHz. They come with V20 CPUs already installed. I bought one as I am very interested in seeing if I can get the thing working at 15MHz. Also, these boards support up to 1MB of memory, though I think that must be only with monochrome graphics.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2005 2:26 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I have decided to go with the JUKO board that has a V30 CPU on it. I wonder how much faster it will be than the V20. I do believe that the V30 has 16-bit access to DRAM.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 6:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

the v-30 was a 8086 replacement
not as common as a v20 or 8088.
most non ibm boards ( add-on boards)
will work at 8 or 10 mhz.
remember that the 8088 archtecture has fewer interrupt available that even a 286,
and since there is no PnP care must be taken when putting in cards,
you cannot load one up nearly as much as a newer system
there are strange incompatibilities.
like video cards and keyboards.

if possible test in a simple configuration first.

the helps and bios warnings are about non-existant.
a power supply should have all the wires present.
some later power supplies. were missing one wire one in from the edge.
this worked only with some 286 boards.

this also means that a xt or clone could be made in a typical tower pentium AT formfactor case.
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 4:01 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Does anyone see any reason why a model M keyboard which works perfectly find on a real IBM motherboard would not function on an XT-clone motherboard? I suspect that the board has problems, but the eBay seller is being stubborn. I don't have other keyboards around for testing. He claims he tested it before he sent it to me, but I think it's pure BS because when it arrived there was a jumper cap hot glued over the keyboard lock jumper.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 760
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:09 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I have an idea...

XT-class machines need XT-class keyboards. IME, most model M's don't support XT-class keyboards. If you've got an 8088 around, chances are the keyboard for it will work. Also, if there's switches on one of your keyboards, try switching them.

If you need it, I've got a XT/AT switchable keyboard or two that I haven't even plugged in in a long time. I wouldn't mind trade, even if it's just for a floppy disk or something that has a neat game on it.

_________________
>say "Hello sailor"
Nothing happens here.

>score
Your score is 202 (total of 350 points), in 866 moves.
This gives you the rank of Adventurer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:47 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm using the model M that shipped with the 1985/86 version of the XT (the one without LEDs). So, it should do XT scancodes. Infact, I thought all model Ms can automatically translate XT scancodes. All of the model Ms I've tried on my XT seem to work. Anyway, I will have access to a real IBM 83-keyboard this weekend when I return home. I appreciate the offer, but I'm affraid I can't adopt anymore keyboards.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 760
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 7:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hope you get it to work. : - )

_________________
>say "Hello sailor"
Nothing happens here.

>score
Your score is 202 (total of 350 points), in 866 moves.
This gives you the rank of Adventurer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 168
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 9:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Anonymous Coward wrote:
I appreciate the offer, but I'm affraid I can't adopt anymore keyboards.


Should see my pile Shocked (somewere around 50 keyboards)

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
jforb



Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Location: sunny AZ

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 12:45 am Reply with quoteBack to top

keyboards aren't the problem....computers and monitors are the problem....

_________________
Jim

selectric.org
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 760
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:34 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I've got three letters for you jforb: KVM.

That is, if you have enough of the same type to work with Smile

_________________
>say "Hello sailor"
Nothing happens here.

>score
Your score is 202 (total of 350 points), in 866 moves.
This gives you the rank of Adventurer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
wdegroot
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 4:42 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

many kb of that era were auto-switch
meaning no switches
if you have an older kb try it and if there are no errors good luck
if it works at all , it;s ok.

some kb had the dip switched hidden in the kb legs!

a kb despite 10 or 12 function keys --many 12 function keys will work on xt's, but f11 and f12 will not be functional.
I chased that by buying a new bios and it did not make a difference.
tandy had 12 function keys on 8088 machines but tandy was in another world on many things.

I gave "night vision pinball" to a tandy 100 owner and he reported back in a week " i finally figured out all the keys"
it was a self- booting ( no os or dos) game and the tandy was not truly compatible
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 3:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

So do you know what's pretty weird? The high density floppy controller I couldn't get going on my IBM PC/XT motherboard seems to work just fine on the V30 motherboard. What could be the reason for this? Is it possible that the BASIC chips are taking up a memory address needed by the controller?
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT