Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 online with wfwg 3.11 broadband View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
jforb



Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Location: sunny AZ

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:18 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I have the Aptiva 486 multimedia machine that my mother in law used to use.

I put dos 6.0 and windows for workgroups 3.11 on it.

Had to get the tcp/ip driver from MS (still there on the ms web page) to get it working, but here it is.

using netscape 3 Personal Edition from the CD.

gotta download the video drivers now, 16 colors ain't enough.

_________________
Jim

selectric.org
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Puckdropper
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 759
Location: Not in Chicago

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:58 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Pretty cool. I've done that a few times myself. Smile The only problem is Netscape 3.04 has some problems with "modern" pages that don't look much better than their older "brothers."

_________________
>say "Hello sailor"
Nothing happens here.

>score
Your score is 202 (total of 350 points), in 866 moves.
This gives you the rank of Adventurer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
jforb



Joined: 22 Oct 2005
Posts: 61
Location: sunny AZ

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:55 am Reply with quoteBack to top

from whenever it was I posted last time till now, I've spent getting the %$&*#@$ video drivers set up. dang. I did finally find the IBM recommended driver for this machine, it was quite a challenge, though.

Now the pics look ok, but this page doesn't show up right. also I installed Netscape 4.07 which is the newest 16 bit version I have.

Not too shabby performance for a 486, this is probably almost as good as it gets, I think it's a 100 mhz, 40 mb ram, 1m video ram with integrated vlb video.

Aptiva 2144-P30

_________________
Jim

selectric.org
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
mf_2



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 367
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 2:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have a 386 sx25 with a herc mionochrome card an a 19" acer b/w crt hooked up to my router and with the trumpet winsock thing ( tcp/ip ) it works really great. It runs dos 6.22 and windows 3.11 for workgroups. That's the only 386 that I have a coprocessor for. It's a cyrix I believe.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
Jorg



Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 6:05 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have an IBM XT 8088 as webserver...

_________________
Hey you with the pretty face, welcome to the human race!

IBM 5150 5155 5160 5162 5170
IBM 5151 5152 5153 5154
View user's profileSend private messageICQ Number
bear



Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 172
Location: 57�59'N 15�39'E

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:05 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have a 486 running @ 120 Mhz with w98se and MSIE connected to my LAN no problems surfing Smile
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 164
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I've never had luck with windows 3.X and the internet. Both ie and netscape crash often (memory leaks? tcp/ip problems? Who knows). I'd say stick with 9X on up for internet (or about any networking really).

I use to run a 386SX16 with windows 95a and ie 4.0 and it was ok. Although I only had 8mb of ram so it was a bit slow Laughing

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
386er



Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 2:03 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I have a compaq deskpro 386/33 that has dos 6.21 windows 3.1 with a 3c509b-c in it and uses trumpet winsock and internet explorer 5.01. its a little slow because it only has 6mb ram but it works. Very Happy
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailMSN Messenger
creepingnet



Joined: 19 Oct 2004
Posts: 137
Location: Lynnwood,WA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I've put just about every computer I've owned on the internet-surf at one point or another, but probably the most impressive have been the three 286s.....

IBM PS/2 Model 30 286 (2002) - NetTamer, 56K Dialup through built in serial port, usually connection of 36.7K MINIMUM, using mFire as my ISP. I actually used to surf on that one quite a bit.

Zentih Data Systems SuperSport 286 (2003) - NetTamer, 2400 Baud (no lie, the original internal modem), running DOS 6.22, it took Yahoo! 5 minutes to load, lol.

GEM 286/12 oc'd 12MHz (2006) - Via Arachne using Verizon DSL through a router.

I'm pushing to put my XT on next once I get some things sorted out.

_________________
84' Tandy 1000(a)
90' GEM Computer Products 286
12' Franken-486
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Unknown_K



Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 264
Location: Ohio/USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 7:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I get on the net with my 486 machines. You can use IE5 on Win 3.1 (hard to find the 16 bit version but it exists on the net), I recommend quite a bit of RAM and a fast 486 if you try.

WFW is easy to setup for browsing, like another poster said just get the TCP/IP add-on from MS and if you can do DHCP you are done.
View user's profileSend private message
Erik



Joined: 28 Feb 2006
Posts: 117
Location: LI, NY

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:32 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I did the same thing w/ my 486. It works quite nicely just a bit slow. Razz

_________________
Nukem Enterprises - http://eriks.servehttp.com
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteICQ Number
Howard81



Joined: 21 May 2006
Posts: 47
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 7:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have my 486DX4-100 online with Windows 3.11, 16MB of RAM and IE 5.

You can easily find the Microsoft TCP/IP and set it up with the required data for a network. My network card is a 3Com 3C509 Combo.

I think it would be better with 32MB for RAM, but if I was going to add that then I may as well just go and use my old Pentium 166 Smile
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
386er



Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Im using a 386 right now, 33mhz, 16mb ram, 10 gb hdd (2 gig dos, 8 gig ntfs4dos!) 3com 3c509b-c windows 3.10, not wfw trumpet tcp/ip stack
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailMSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT