Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 Anyone here ever tried Intel RapidCAD? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 11:38 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I've been looking for the RapidCAD twins for some time now, and they finally came my way. Though, I won't be able to test them for quite some time. Has anyone in here ever played with them before? I wonder how it performs, and if it can be pushed to 40MHz.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 580
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:31 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Nope, never actually seen 'em (except in pictures). As rare as those things are---do you really want to try to push them that hard?! Shocked
View user's profileSend private message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I don't know if pushing the to 40MHz is too much stress. I've had pretty good luck running intel 386s and 486s at 40MHz without extra cooling. The RapidCAD is just a 486DX core without L2 cache...and that fact alone should make it a good overclocker.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
386er



Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 4:56 am Reply with quoteBack to top

this is for a 386 socket right? what speed does yours say.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailMSN Messenger
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2007 10:21 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yeah, it's for a 386 socket. It doesn't have a speed rating on it. As far as I know, none of them do. I believe they are all rated to run at 33MHz.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Unknown_K



Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 264
Location: Ohio/USA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 5:49 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Seems interesting, when will you get a chance to try the chips out?
View user's profileSend private message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 1:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I likely won't have a chance to test them until October.

But, I was doing a little reading and from the sounds of things this chip runs pretty hot. It is claimed the extra heat is due to the fact that a 486 die is squeezed into a small ceramic 386 package. Several users claimed even at 33MHz it seemed to require a heatsink.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT