Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 SRAM Adapters for my 486 View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:29 am Reply with quoteBack to top

My EISA 486 currently has 128mb of memory installed, but only 256kb cache. Without additional cache RAM, the extra 64mb of memory is much slower than the first 64mb. My board supports up to 1MB of SRAM in 128k x 8 DIP32 modules. However, finding these SRAMs are next to impossible these days. I've been searching for 4 years and I haven't found a single one.

So instead I am considering building some adapters for some cheap 512k x 8 SRAMs to fit into the DIP socket. The only question is: How to make it fit. I am likely going to use TSOP or SOJ memory, which means that it will probably be mounted sideways on a PCB. But, the big problem is finding a plug that will fit into a DIP socket. DIPs usually have flat legs, but many plugs I see are square or round. This kind of plug usually doesn't fit well and could possibly break the socket. Can anyone recommend a connector or part number to me?
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 579
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 4:55 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You might find something here:

http://www.accutekmicro.com/
View user's profileSend private message
Anonymous Coward



Joined: 20 Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Location: Shandong, China

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 4:45 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hmm. It's a good idea, but they don't have any 300 or 400mil DIP adapters. I've seen companies that make them, but they usually charge quite a lot for them. I'm going to build the adapters myself, so I just need the connectors.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 579
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 5:18 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Last "real job" had a bunch of stuff like that (even BGA to QFP stuff --- odd looking, believe me). Sad that it's probably sitting in a landfill somewhere now...
View user's profileSend private message
ryan



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 261
Location: WisConSin

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:07 am Reply with quoteBack to top

T-R-A wrote:
Last "real job" had a bunch of stuff like that (even BGA to QFP stuff --- odd looking, believe me). Sad that it's probably sitting in a landfill somewhere now...


I figured you would have pulled everything you could including the electric wire before leaving Smile
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
T-R-A



Joined: 02 Oct 2004
Posts: 579
Location: Western NC

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Well, I'd pretty much cleaned up on older computer stuff. Figured I'd leave them with something... Razz
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT