Return to Uncreativelabs.net front page Uncreative Labs
PC XT and AT forums
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

 Windows 3.x and wifi? View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 164
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:53 am Reply with quoteBack to top

This is a long shot I know but I have to ask. I am still playing around with that grid 486 tablet and really need it on my network. Problem is ALL my pcmcia card are cardbus but one, a dlink 802.11b network card.

So is it possible at all to get a 486 on a wifi network under windows 3.x?

Sadly I have a perfectly good xircom pocket Ethernet adapter for parallel ports, of which this computer has none.

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
harshbarj



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 164
Location: behind you!

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:10 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Here are photos of the tablet / laptop. Possibly the earliest convertible???

Image

Had to turn off the flash to get the screen.
Image
Image

_________________
Raise Your IQ. Eat Gifted Children.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailVisit poster's website
max



Joined: 29 Mar 2008
Posts: 51
Location: czech republic

PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Not sure about win 3x, but under DOS this is possible. Orinoco wifi cards have drivers for many platforms including DOS. May be it has also drivers for win 3.x. May be it will work if you load DOS driver and then start Win 3.x?
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
386er



Joined: 27 Jan 2007
Posts: 274
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:44 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I used to run a 386 on wifi via a ethernet to wifi bridge, to configure it i just needed a web browser to goto 192.168.0.1 or similar and i could configure wich network to connect too, this would be fine for a desktop, not so much a portable... you can probly find an early a/b 16bit pc card with win 9x drivers on ebay. mabey dualboot it with dos 7.1 /win95 if you got a good sized harddrive and use the type of card i mentioned, heck mabey 9x will have the display driver you need for that cirrus logic display!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailMSN Messenger
Unknown_K



Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 264
Location: Ohio/USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:20 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Anything that works under DOS will work while Windows 3.1 is running.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic
 Jump to:   
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001/3 phpBB Group :: FI Theme :: All times are GMT